XV: Thanks For The Donuts (Dilla Tribute)

XV just went to twitter to post this from his blog. A tribute mixtape of the Kansas bred rapper hopping on J Dilla beats…

“I’ve been a fan of the producer James Yancey aka J Dilla, since I first purchased “Like Water For Chocolate” by Common…I studied the way he chopped samples (although I never could learn how he did what he did, especially because of me using Fruity Loops) and was amazed by his compression techniques. From that day on, I was a believer!

“Donuts” was my first instrumental CD I copped from Dilla (I grabbed the earlier tapes later), and I started using them right away on my mixtapes. With those being earlier on in my career, I compiled a small collection of a few Dilla tracks I’ve done over the years.”

Download: XV: Thanks For The Donuts (Dilla Tribute)

About headofsecurity

One thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain
This entry was posted in Downloads, Mixtape, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

